Wood and Sodhi recalled; NZ bowl first

New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl against England Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

England will need to judge what a defendable total is at the Westpac after they were put into bat by the returning Kane Williamson. They have a woeful ODI record at this ground, four huge defeats, including the World Cup thrashing against New Zealand when Tim Southee bundled them out for 123.

Mark Wood has been recalled in place of David Willey after he overcame the ankle niggle which troubled him at the start of the series. His last appearance for England was the T20 at this ground when he went for 51 in his four overs.

New Zealand have made one further change with Ish Sodhi, the legspinner, recalled in place of paceman Lockie Ferguson.

The pitch, the third new surface used at the ground this season, again had an ugly look about it but amid fears about the T20 surface between these sides last month it played perfectly well in a high-scoring encounter.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Mark Chapman, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Tom Curran, 11 Mark Wood.

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Newlands crowd abuse ‘disgraceful’- Lehmann

Personal abuse directed by Newlands spectators at the Australian side during the third Test has ...

%d bloggers like this: