West Indies opt to bowl; Gayle ruled out

West Indies opt to bowl v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

West Indies won the toss and chose to bowl on a Hagley Oval track they believed would characteristically favour seam bowling.

The big news from their camp, however, is that Chris Gayle is unavailable for this match, after having failed to recover sufficiently from the illness that had also hampered him during the first ODI. Of the XI that will take the field for this game, only captain Jason Holder has played more than 30 ODIs. Batsman Kyle Hope – the brother of Shai – replaced Gayle in the top order.

West Indies’ second forced change was the replacement of Kesrick Williams with left-arm quick Sheldon Cottrell, after Williams sustained a hamstring complaint.

New Zealand also made two changes, though theirs are elected. Neil Broom was slotted into the XI to replace the rested Kane Williamson, while Matt Henry replaced Tim Southee.

New Zealand: 1 George Worker, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Neil Broom, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Todd Astle, 8 Doug Bracewell, 9 Lockie Ferguson, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

West Indies: 1 Kyle Hope, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Jason Mohammed, 6 Jason Holder (capt.), 7 Rovman Powell, 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Ronsford Beaton, 10 Sheldon Cottrell , 11 Shannon Gabriel

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Rashid Khan, top order give Afghanistan 4-1 series win

Afghanistan 241 for 9 (Ahmadi 76, Rahmat 59, Raza 2-41) beat Zimbabwe 95 (Ervine 34, ...

%d bloggers like this: