Rain arrives after West Indies opt to bowl

Toss West Indies chose to bowl v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Rain arrived in Mount Maunganui shortly after West Indies captain Carlos Brathwaite sent New Zealand in to bat in the first international match of 2018. Still searching for their first win of the tour after six international matches and two tour games, West Indies made two changes.

Left-arm quick Sheldon Cottrell came in place of Jerome Taylor for his first T20I since January 2015 while the 21-year-old batsman Shimron Hetmyer made his T20I debut in place of Jason Mohammed. Hetmeyer has played only one T20 game so far, for St Lucia Zouks against Guyana Amazon Warriors in July 2016.

New Zealand welcomed the return of Kane Williamson, who took back the captaincy from Tim Southee. Williamson had taken a break from the limited-overs series after playing the opener in Whangarei on December 20. Ross Taylor, who made himself available only for the first T20I, made way for Williamson.

New Zealand XI 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Glenn Phillips(wk), 5 Tom Bruce, 6 Anaru Kitchen, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Doug Bracewell, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Seth Rance, 11 Ish Sodhi

West Indies XI 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Chadwick Walton (wk), 3 Andre Fletcher, 4 Shai Hope, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Carlos Brathwaite (capt), 7 Rovman Powell, 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Sheldon Cotterell, 10 Kesrick Williams, 11 Samuel Badree

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Zimbabwe recall Williams, Cephas Zhuwao for World Cup Qualifiers

Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao have been included in Zimbabwe’s squad for the ICC World ...

%d bloggers like this: