Pakistan bowl; New Zealand pick Ferguson

Toss Pakistan chose to bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Sarfraz Ahmed, the Pakistan captain, elected to bowl in windy conditions, on a Wellington pitch with a smattering of grass on it. Pakistan made no changes to the side that won the only tour game in Nelson on Wednesday. New Zealand opted for the pace of Lockie Ferguson, with Matt Henry missing out.

“We’re looking to restrict them to under 250,” Sarfraz said. “We’ve been playing well lately, mainly because we have been playing as a team, and not a bunch of individuals.”

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said he was happy to bat first, acknowledging that his side had an edge going into the game considering they had played there recently.

This is the first ODI in a five-match series. Pakistan have won their last nine ODIs, last losing in the opening game of the Champions Trophy in June last year.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Lewis confirmed as Under-19 head coach

Jon Lewis, the former Gloucestershire and England fast bowler, has been named as the head ...

%d bloggers like this: