Mashrafe goes to Shinepukur as DPL draft’s first pick

Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh ODI captain, was the first pick in the player draft for the 2017-18 Dhaka Premier League. He was signed by Shinepukur Cricket Club, who had won the lottery to determine which Dhaka club would get the first pick in the draft. The tournament is due to begin on February 5.

But since the tournament’s authority, the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolitan (CCDM), has allowed clubs to exchange players among themselves, ESPNcricinfo has learned that the fast bowler is likely to be snapped up by Abahani Limited. Each club has also been allowed to keep five players from the previous season.

In Saturday’s draft, Kalabagan Krira Chakra used the second pick in the first round to choose the batsman Taibur Rahman before Legends of Rupganj picked up Mushfiqur Rahim. Agrani Bank opted for Al-Amin Hossain and Mohammedan Sporting Club took Shakib Al Hasan.

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Brothers Union and Abahani Limited picked Liton Das, Yasir Ali and Nasir Hossain respectively.

Defending champions Gazi Group Cricketers, who got the ninth pick, went for Imrul Kayes while Prime Bank Cricket Club picked Mahmudullah. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club picked Nazmul Islam and, with the last pick in the first round, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity acquired Anamul Haque.

The players draft, in which the clubs are allowed to pick players and not the other way around, is an alternative to players transfers, which is a more open-market system.

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Mohammad Irfan, Kumar Sangakkara fashion Multan Sultans win on PSL debut | Cricket

Multan Sultans 152 for 3 (Sangakkara 57, Malik 42*) beat Peshawar ...

%d bloggers like this: