Jhye Richardson in for SA Tests, no room for Maxwell, Sayers

Jhye Richardson‘s rapid rise has been maintained by selection to tour South Africa with Australia’s Test squad, in which the selectors have retained both Cameron Bancroft and Peter Handscomb despite underwhelming displays during the Ashes series.

The panel chaired by Trevor Hohns could find no room for Glenn Maxwell – chosen as a standby batsman as recently as the Gabba Test against England in November – and also left out the Adelaide Test 12th man Chadd Sayers.

At the age of 21, Richardson has played only five first-class matches, but took 17 wickets in four Sheffield Shield games for Western Australia prior to the start of the Big Bash League. Richardson has stated he takes inspiration from South Africa’s Dale Steyn.

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc.

Australia T20I squad: David Warner (capt), Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa

More to follow

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Shoaib Akhtar appointed PCB brand ambassador

Former Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has been appointed to two key posts – advisor ...

%d bloggers like this: