India bat first; Rahane, Bhuvneshwar return

South Africa chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details


India won the toss for the first time in the series, and decide to bat at the Wanderers

India resisted the temptation of bowling on a green pitch with moisture retained from overnight rain; after winning the toss for the first time in the series, they decided to bat first for the first time in the series. For the first time since the WACA Test in 2011-12 against Australia, India went into a Test without a specialist spinner, replacing R Ashwin with Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Ajinkya Rahane made his expected comeback too, at the expense of Rohit Sharma.

South Africa went the same way, excluding the spinner Keshav Maharaj for allrounder Andile Phehlukwayo. However, the move didn’t relieve Quinton de Kock of the responsibility of batting at No. 6. Having won the series, South Africa were looking to complete the whitewash and return India the scoreline they themselves suffered when they toured in 2015-16.

The weather was expected to be fine for the first day, but there was threat of rain affecting the rest of the Test.

India: 1 M Vijay, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt.), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Parthiv Patel (wk), 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Faf du Plessis (capt.), 6 Quinton de Kock (wk), 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 Vernon Philander, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Morne Morkel, 11 Lungi Ngidi

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Zimbabwe recall Williams, Cephas Zhuwao for World Cup Qualifiers

Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao have been included in Zimbabwe’s squad for the ICC World ...

%d bloggers like this: