Australia bowl first in bid to stem English tide

Australia’s captain Steven Smith won the toss and chose to send England in to bat in the Australia Day ODI at Adelaide Oval.

Damp and humid weather in Adelaide encouraged Smith to bowl first, even though the hosts are resting Mitchell Starc after he played in the first three matches. AJ Tye has come into the team instead.

Travis Head will open the batting with David Warner in the absence of the injured Aaron Finch, and the pair will hope to replicate their big stand against Pakistan in the corresponding match a year ago. Cameron White stays at N. 3 and Smith at No. 4.

England lost Liam Plunkett due to a hamstring injury in the third match in Sydney, with Tom Curran coming into the team.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Cameron White, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Tim Paine (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 AJ Tye, 11 Josh Hazlewood

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Alex Hales, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan (capt), 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Tom Curran, 11 Mark Wood

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Mohammad Irfan, Kumar Sangakkara fashion Multan Sultans win on PSL debut | Cricket

Multan Sultans 152 for 3 (Sangakkara 57, Malik 42*) beat Peshawar ...

%d bloggers like this: