Australia bowl first as Short, Carey make debuts

Toss Australia chose top bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Australia have handed a maiden international cap to the dynamic Hurricane Hobarts opener D’Arcy Short, while the wicketkeeper Alex Carey has been given a chance to build on his spirited first appearance during the England ODI series, as David Warner won the toss and chose to bowl first in the opening match of the T20 Tri-Series in Sydney.

Thirteen years on from contesting the very first T20 international, Australia and New Zealand are once again the curtain-raising combatants in a notable new departure for the format. However, with the Big Bash final looming in Adelaide on Sunday, it’s debatable whether even the chance of fulfilling the dream of playing for Australia will rank as Short’s most pressing engagement this weekend. He has been released, along with his fellow finalists Carey and Travis Head, to link up with their squads straight after the match.

“I think there’s a bit of weather about, but coming into this, we want to see what this wicket has to offer,” Warner said at the toss. “We’ve got a great bunch of young guys here who have been fantastic throughout the BBL.”

Kane Williamson said it would have been a 50-50 decision to bowl first, but will instead unleash the power of Martin Guptill and Colin Munro at the top of the order. Tim Southee and Trent Boult will form a formidable new-ball pairing when New Zealand’s own turn comes to bowl, with Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner providing the frontline spin options.

Australia 1 David Warner (capt), 2 D’Arcy Short, 3 Chris Lynn, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Alex Carey (wk), 7 Ashton Agar, 8 Andrew Tye, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Billy Stanlake

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Tom Bruce, 5 Ross Taylor, 6 Colin de Grandhomme, 7 Tom Blundell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

South Africa bowl; de Villiers out injured; Klaasen and Dala debut | Cricket

Play 03:56 Toss: ...

%d bloggers like this: