Australia bat first with two debutants in ranks

Australia’s captain Steven Smith won the toss and chose to bat first against England in the second ODI at the Gabba.

On a hot day in Brisbane, the Australians included two debutants, Alex Carey for the ill Tim Paine and Jhye Richardson for Josh Hazlewood, while Pat Cummins was rested.

Carey’s cap was presented by Ian Healy, and Richardson’s by Carl Rackemann.

The legspinner Adam Zampa was dropped after returning 0 for 72 in the first match, with Cameron White recalled for a first ODI since 2015. That selection elongates Australia’s batting order but leaves 20 overs to be shared between Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh and Travis Head.

England were unchanged following their opening victory at the MCG.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 Travis Head, 5 Cameron White, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Marcus Stoinis, 8 Alex Carey (wk), 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Jhye Richardson, 11 AJ Tye

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Alex Hales, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan (capt), 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Liam Plunkett, 11 Mark Wood

Source link

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Father-son bonding, the Chanderpaul way

Imagine you were a professional cricketer. Now imagine you had to share your dressing room ...

%d bloggers like this: